University of Connecticut University of UC Title Fallback Connecticut

P-2, Social and Human Services (AFSCME) – Leave Type: Personal Illness/Injury (Non-Work Related)

Job Protection and Benefit Continuation

Federal FMLA

  • Eligible after one year of employment and after working 1,250 hours or more in previous 12-months
  • Up to 12 weeks of leave during 12-month FMLA period
  • Leave may be taken intermittently or on a reduced schedule
  • Continued eligibility for state contributions toward health insurance (directly billed as needed)

CT General Statute 31-51kk

  • Eligible after 12 months of state service and after working 1,000 hours or more in previous 12-months
  • Up to 16 weeks of leave within a two-year period
  • Leave may be taken intermittently or on a reduced schedule
  • Continued eligibility for state contributions toward health insurance (directly billed as needed)

SEBAC Supplemental Leave

  • Eligible as a permanent employee as defined in CT General Statute 5-196(19)
  • Begins after the exhaustion of Federal FMLA and/or 31-55kk leave
  • And/or the exhaustion of all sick leave accruals
  • And, if applicable, the exhaustion of Workers’ Compensation wage replacement benefits
  • Up to 24 weeks of block leave in a two-year period
  • Continued eligibility for state contributions toward health insurance (directly billed as needed)

Note:  Leaves for employees with end date positions will not be extended beyond the end date.

Your medical condition may also qualify for accommodation under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Compliance & Accommodations.

How the Leave is Paid

Paid using sick leave entitlements.

Optional paid time that can be applied to the leave

  • Personal leave
  • Vacation
  • Earned holidays

Advanced Sick Leave

  • Must have at least 5 years of full-time service
  • Available when all paid leave options (from above) are exhausted
  • For cases involving extended periods of illness or injury
  • 1 day at full pay for each completed year of full-time service to a maximum of 30 days at full pay

Extended Sick Leave

  • Must have at least 20 years of state service
  • Available when all paid leave options (from above) are exhausted
  • Half-pay for up to a maximum of 30 days

Donated Leave

  • Must have 6 months of state service and have achieved permanent status
  • Available when all paid time off options are exhausted
  • Fellow bargaining unit members can donate accrued vacation, person and/or up to 5 days per calendar year of sick leave
  • Must be suffering from a long term or terminal illness or disability

How to Apply for Leave

Complete Employee Request and Intent to Return to Work forms below to initiate the leave process. Return forms to your HR Leave Administrator (email preferred).

Human Resources Leave Administrator Contact

Cindy Drost
Telephone: (860) 486-2432
Fax: (860) 486-0406

Forms

Employee Request Form (HR1)
Intent to Return to Work Form (HR3)
Medical Certificate (P-33A)
Request for Advance of Sick Leave

Time Coding During the Leave

Time Coding instructions are provided to employees and their supervisors by the Leave Administrator.

Returning to Work

Must provide Fitness for Duty certification (last page of Medical Certification, P-33A)

Policy References

Understanding Family and Medical Leave (A primer for Connecticut State Employees)
Federal Family and Medical Leave Act
Federal Family and Medical Leave Act in Spanish
U.S. Dept. of Labor Employee’s Guide to FMLA
Connecticut Statute
C.G.S. 31-51kk
C.G.S. 5-196(19)
Statewide Family and Medical Leave Policy
P-2 Contract Article 27 Holidays
Article 28 Vacations
Article 29 Sick Leave
Article 30 Personal Leave