Pursuant to Connecticut state law, virtually all University employees are Mandated Reporters of Child Abuse and Neglect and must comply with the reporting requirements in Connecticut’s mandated reporting laws. (Connecticut General Statutes Sections 17a-101a to 17a-101d).
How to Report?
Please Note: If you witness child abuse or if there is an imminent or ongoing threat to an individual or the community, immediately call 9-1-1.
Connecticut state law, requires that reports of known or suspected child abuse or neglect be made orally, as soon as possible, but no later than 12 hours to the Department of Children and Families’ (DCF) 24-hour hotline and/or law enforcement.
Within 48 hours of making oral reports, a written report must be made to DCF using DCF’s Report of Suspected Abuse Form (DCF-136 Form).
To make a report, contact:
- DCF’s 24-hour hotline at (800) 842-2288;
- the University Police at (860)486-4800; or
- UConn Health Police at (860)679-2121.
University employees are protected under state law for the good faith reporting of suspected Child Abuse or Child Neglect, even if a later investigation fails to substantiate the allegations.
In addition to statutory reporting requirements, University employees must also comply with any other University policies that impose additional reporting obligations, such as the Policy Against Discrimination, Harassment, and Related Interpersonal Violence.